Advice Choosing Leather

Leather is a natural product and has its own natural characteristics. It is normal for seating areas of leather upholstery to show signs of creasing and stretching. It will bear evidence of its own unique history such as scars, wrinkles, irregularities, even insect bites and so on. None of these are defects and are not detrimental. There are five main categories of upholstery leather care:

Aniline and Sauvage Leather:

This is the most expensive, softest and purest leather but it does clearly show natural shade variations and markings. It does stain easily as dye is impregnated into the surface without the need for artifcial finish.

Semi-Aniline Leather:

Similar to aniline with a light surface finish which makes it more stain resistant.

Standard Soft Leather:

The most commonly used and durable type of leather. Dye is applied to the hide and grain embossed onto the surface and then a protective finish is added.

Standard Antique Leather:

Similar to soft leather, however, it has a very light graining and a two part dye known as a 'rub?off'. A light coloured base coat is followed by a darker top coat which is removed in the wear areas to give an artrficially aged look.

Nubuck Leather:

This leather is dyed and its surface is buffed to produce a velvety feel. Nubuck is particularly prone to soiling and staining and requires careful use.

In Conclusion

Natural leather comes in a variety of types and finishes therefore it is essential you follow the manufacturers' care instructions carefully. Lighter colour leathers can become permanently stained by continual contact with non?colourfast clothing such as denim.

Remember the simple 'golden rule' ? if in doubt ? please let us help you or contact Servicemaster for impartial professional advice on 0116 236 4646.

Copyright © 2019 Marshall's, 32 Fore Street, Hertford, Hertfordshire, SG14 1BY. Phone: 01992 582039   Registered in England: 1537786, VAT No: 213 500 913